A Shout Out To My Sister

 

ME&CON

My favorite picture of us, my sister and me, taken at the wedding of my oldest younger brother.

As you may notice on the sidebar of this blog page, I recently reactivated my twitter account.  Twitter is a good place to post great sentences discovered inside the many, many books I’ve read.

But not everything fits in 140 or fewer characters-limit of Twitter.

So here is a very funny, longer  passage I discovered a couple of years ago in Nathan Englander’s short story collection,”What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank.” It is taken from a story titled, “Camp Sundown.” (Camp Sundown being an “elder hostel”)

“I don’t know why they call his book ‘Les Miserables’,” she says, leaning into the circle, as if sharing a secret. “As you will discover, this book is not less miserable. It is more miserable than you can imagine.”

This laugh is for you, Connie.

ganesha

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A Shout Out To My Sister”

  1. sj214carr Says:

    Wow, what beauties…look at all those curls and white teeth….priceless.

    Xo

    Susan James Carr Wondrous Nature http://wondrousnature.com/ susan@wondrousnature.com

  2. C.C. in Annapolis Says:

    My Sister Sue has been the lamp of light and hope in the darkest journey of my life. When I was fearful -she was there- when I was hopeful we shared and laughed- and now I am triumphant. Her strength, courage and empathy – were the great motivators for me to fight on be victorious – I am eternally grateful. Connie

Leave a Reply

