Lunchtime Walks in the City: Called, on Account of Rain

MonsoonView of 5th Avenue and the Apple store from the 10th floor corner office

Due to inclement weather, I missed my walks around the city these past two days. Wednesday was a monsoon. 3 inches of rain in 1 hour. Don’t get me wrong. I love rainstorms. But I’d like to be curled up with a book, looking out at the rain, than be at work and far away from windows.

Thursday’s weather was a bit better…but it was still raining.

So I ate at my desk and read. In fact, I started a new book called Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. If you’re an introverted type like me, this book offers a validation, of sorts. It’s comforting to learn there are lots of other people in the world who feel the way I do about savoring my alone-time.

My quiet personality-type was no more evident as when I worked in Hollywood, CA. As a copywriter for an entertainment industry design company, I attended many, many company parties (attendance was compulsory — not attending was not an option). One time, it was a DVD cover art award ceremony (seriously) — like the Oscars, of entertainment packaging. We even took home a “goodie” bag (filled with bad DVDs). Another time, there was a big affair at the Chateau Marmont celebrating the company-owner’s birthday. At the Chateau, what I remember most, was the lounge off the lobby of the hotel. Decorated in “early vampire,” it was dimly lit, upholstered in velvet, and populated by sad 40 to 50-somethings dressed as teenagers trolling the premises for celebrities. So depressing.

Maybe this sounds fun if you’re more extroverted than me. Then again, maybe not.

Why am I mentioning all this? The book I’m reading, Quiet…,  has, at the beginning, a short questionnaire you can complete — if you want to know if you are an introvert. Here are the questions:

YES or NO:

1. I prefer one-on-one conversations to group activities.

2. I often prefer to express myself in writing.

3. I enjoy solitude.

4. I seem to care less than my peers about wealth, fame, and status.

5. I dislike small talk, but I enjoy talking in depth about topics that matter to me.

6. People tell me I’m a good listener.

7. I’m not a big risk-taker.

8. I enjoy work that allows me to “dive in” with few interruptions.

9. I like to celebrate birthdays on a small scale, with only one or two close friends or family members.

10. People describe me as “soft-spoken.”

11. I prefer not to show or discuss my work with others until it’s finished.

12. I dislike conflict.

13. I do my best work on my own.

14. I tend to think before I speak.

15. I feel drained after being out and about, even if I’ve enjoyed myself.

16. I often let calls go to voice mail.

17. If I had to choose, I’d prefer a weekend with absolutely nothing to do to one with too many things scheduled.

18. I don’t enjoy multitasking.

19. I can concentrate easily.

20. In classroom situations, I prefer lectures to seminars.

*

I confess, I answered “YES” to all of these questions. If you are like me, this is a book for you. We are not alone and it’s nice to know.

TGIF! Looking forward to my solitude…and perhaps a walk in the city today. The sun is shining this morning and I will probably be late for work…

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Lunchtime Walks in the City: Called, on Account of Rain”

  1. Thomas Jefferson Says:

    I wonder if it’s genetic.

    You know my old saying, “I hate people”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

