Lunchtime Walks in the City – Springtime on the East Side

During lunchtime, I’ve started walking for the entire hour (eating my sandwich at my desk before I leave the office). The Spring weather is intoxicating. The trees are in bloom; the temperature is warm and inviting. My intent is to explore two streets only at a time. Walk down one, walk up the other. But, that may change. No rules here…

Today, I walked as far east as possible from Fifth Avenue, where I work, down 57th St. I crossed Madison, Park, Lexington, Third, Second, First and Sutton Place. To my utter delight, I discovered this little gem of a park, situated right on the East River:

SuttonPark

It was practically empty. I strolled down the ramp onto the flagstone plaza, leaned on the railing for a while gazing at the water. Locals (mostly elderly) from the (very wealthy — old money, haha) neighborhood sat on the benches sucking oxygen. Employees from the dermatology hospital nearby spent their breaktime soaking up some sun.

SuttonPark2

The 59th St. Bridge

 Slow down, you move too fast, got to make the morning last…la la la LA la…feeling groovy…

Everything was in bloom. As if it it happened overnight.

BlueDoorI love that blue door

I felt as if I found my own secret garden. I look forward to visiting again. What peace.

Tomorrow’s Goal: Same streets, but on the West Side…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

