Happy Birthday to Me

from The New Yorker

Yes, today is my birthday and I would like to wish myself many HAPPY returns (unfortunately, this year, our tax return will not be one of them).

Still, I’m happy to report I was at the easel all afternoon, painting. At 5:00 p.m., the painting was finished!

What a great way to spend the day and end the day.

If you know something about astrology, each new birthday represents a brand new astrological year, called a solar year (for which an astrological chart, distinct from your natal chart, is erected). The time the solar chart takes effect is important to note.

My solar chart kicked in today a little after 2:00 p.m. Whatever you are doing when your solar chart takes effect tends to set the tone for the rest of the year.  Mr. NinthHouse had to go into work today, so I was making art.

Last year, my chart kicked in at 2:38 A.M. I was asleep. Which is an apt description of all of 2011. 2011 was a sort of transitional year for me. I’m so glad 2011 is over!

Some Good News:

– I’m on vacation so my birthday will last an entire week.

– When I report back to work a week from this Tuesday, I will finally be getting the assistance I’ve been asking for, for over a year. I replaced two people when I was hired and have been overworked and exploited ever since. This new assistance should help restore my mental energy. When I leave work in 2012, I should be less exhausted and brain dead than I was all of last year.

– Mr. NinthHouse  and I actually celebrated my birthday yesterday at a favorite restaurant. Granting my wish, we sat at the beautiful mahogany horseshoe-shaped bar (we usually sit at a table). But I love sitting at the bar while eating, drinking and being merry. That’s where the action is. We had a great time. And this morning, there were gifts!

– The gifts kept rolling in from my sister, who went out of her way to surprise me and delight me and make me laugh (with the hilarious Clutch Cargo DVD [private joke]). So, thanks again to her.

– Thanks to all my dear friends and family who sent e-mails and cards and called and to my high school friend, Louise, who resurfaced after many years to wish me good tidings.

– Tomorrow night, we have tickets to Carnegie Hall, our yearly gift to ourselves for the Concert for Tibet. It’s always a great musical event.

I have a much better feeling about 2012 (which adds up to a number 5 in numerology – year of change and the unexpected) as opposed to 2011 (adds up to a number 4 – year of hard work and towing the line). Don’t you?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

