Back to the Future

(I can just hear my  mother carping: Get your hair out of your face!)

The picture, above, is from my high school yearbook. I offer it as a final nod to school years K thru 12. Adios, yesteryear!

Five posts ago, it seemed like a good idea — blogging about all the homes I’d lived in up until now, schools I’d attended, with respective anecdotes highlighting each one. But I’ve lived in an awful lot of places and, suddenly, the thought of composing yet another post holding to the original premise was just. too. enervating.

As my 85 year-old mother so aptly put it to the poor unsuspecting geezer Lothario from her assisted-living home who had asked her out on a date: “Been there. Done that.”

So I scrapped the whole thing.

Besides, today is my birthday and I should be allowed to do whatever I want — for one day, at least, anyway.

So, yesterday I began the celebrations by spending the day with J.C. at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, one of my favorite places on the planet, let alone, New York.

In addition to all of my favorite parts — African art, Oceanic Art, Egyptian art, modern art, European painting and sculpture, (Islamic art was closed for renovations), we were treated to several special exhibitions. One of them was contemporary Aboriginal painting.

I am in love with Aboriginal art, in which “dreamtime” is often the subject.

What is dreamtime”? Wiki says it better than I could: Aboriginals believe in two forms of time; two parallel streams of activity. One is the daily objective activity, the other is an infinite spiritual cycle called the ‘dreamtime’, more real than reality itself. Whatever happens in the dreamtime establishes the values, symbols, and laws of Aboriginal society. It was believed that some people of unusual spiritual powers had contact with the dreamtime.

FYI, from the info card next to the above painting: the sideways capital E’s represent wallaby footprints! I suppose it’s easy to identify as streams the dotted strips that run vertically. But the parenthetically-shaped lines near the top? They represent the moistened prints left behind by the backsides of people who were sitting down by those streams.

This wildly colorful work is a departure from the traditional dot motif. On closer inspection, you can see faint images of dots. But they are subtly applied, and so translate in a more linear and fluid way.

Around the bend from the aboriginal show were the African art galleries. J.C. grabbed a shot on his iPhone of my favorite African power figure in their collection (we own two of our own and have nicknamed them both “Nail Boy”).

We were at the Met for five hours, taking a break in the middle to eat. After lunch we walked across the length of the museum toward the Egyptian art galleries, which never fail to fascinate and enthrall.

On the way, we passed through the American Wing Courtyard, where I took this picture:

How beautiful to see the snow settled on the skylight.

After arriving at the Temple of Dendur, we took a little time to gaze into the reflection pool before leaving. Central Park can be seen through the window panes.

A perfect end to a perfect day.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Back to the Future”

  1. Preston Benjamin Says:

    I really admire a scenario where someone amongst the dwellers of an assisted living facility asks another out on a date, like that of your mom. Nice post. I enjoyed reading.

Leave a Reply

