Happy Earth Day +1

What better time to post my first entry than the day after Earth Day. I was planning to wait until Friday the 24th to post this (a new moon!), but then that would make it earth day +2. Is it just me or does it seem like everyone else has fallen off the planet?

Speaking of the planet, I read an interview with Stewart Brand, founder of the Whole Earth Catalogue (how I wish I still had my original copy) in this past Sunday’s New York Times. I thought I’d lift a few questions posed by the interviewer (numbered below) and insert my own answers as a way of explaining myself. For anyone who hasn’t left the planet and happens to stumble into my blog (by choice or accident or guilt at having received an email prompt from me), thanks for visiting. This is a kind of long soliloquy…feel free to tune out at will.

1. Morning routine: Tazo Awake tea with a little rice milk; muffin or granola; fruit;  sharing the newspaper with JC.

2. Job Description: freelance writer always looking for the next job.

3. Bad Trip: way back in high school, smoked some pot laced with something and hallucinated on the “late bus” during the ride home. Haven’t smoked any since – if you don’t count the night John Lennon died – which made for a doubly bad trip. I should have just said no.

4. Good Trip: driving down the staggeringly gorgeous coast of Oregon, which beats CA’s coast by a mile.

5. Drug of Choice: a good book (presently, it’s The Periodic Table by Primo Levi).

6. Pets: as an adult, my beloved English bulldog, Roxy, born under the sign of Cancer, who died prematurely of kidney failure; her companion, a pit bull-bulldog mixture  named Flash, the Virgo that outlived her; my darling Jack Russell Terrier — Quark — another Cancerian who also died tragically. Sadness aside, dogs will never been a bad trip for me.

7. Controversial Stand: I’m an astrologer but shy away from squishy New Age-y stuff.

8. Exercise Routine: morning sessions from a yoga show called “Inhale” that I record from the OXY network. Soooo good for my office-chair induced backaches.

9. Evening Routine: when not reading, I’m watching In Treatment. I’m a closet (but not after this post) American Idol junkie. I like The Office too.

10. Favorite Gadget: my garlic press. It’s a Kuhn – it’s amazing. I no longer mince – a time consuming chore I’d rather avoid.

11. Obsession: astrology, for over 20 years.

12. Art Collection: mostly my own stuff — my paintings –but also a couple of Haitian pieces (gifts from a good friend), a great little ink drawing of a donkey doing a handstand, which was purchased off the wall at a café in Los Feliz.

13. Native American Memorabilia: a traditional tomahawk we bought from a Navajo woman near the Grand Canyon. Instead of a sharpened steel blade, there’s a large flat river stone and eagle feather laced to the handle with rawhide. It’s tucked away in a corner in case of emergency — like a home invasion robbery (my deepest fear out here in L.A.).

14. Favorite Vacation: the Grand Canyon in early October. I can never get enough of it.

15. Always in the fridge: apples, yogurt, Trader Joe’s chocolate covered mini-grahams or some such chocolate treat.

16. Next big purchase: probably a computer. My Mac is dying a slow death.

17. At age 5, I wanted to be: a garbage collector. Every morning, I’d watch with fascination as the men in blue hopped on and off the moving truck emptying garbage cans. I honestly believed that after the truck left our block, their route included cities like Paris and Rome, and that their mission was to travel and collect the world’s trash.

18. Current project: reading, making notes and psyching myself up to finally begin that novel…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Happy Earth Day +1”

  1. Willis Says:

    Hey!

    Fantastic first post!!

    I’m sure my goofy site was your inspiration. LOL right.

    Hope you get tons of readers. I know you will, you write wonderfully.

    Your bro.

  2. Sasha Says:

    I love the idea of magic garbage men, heroically flying on their garbage sleigh from country to country, picking up the trash.

    I’m so glad you’re blogging!

  3. Moe Says:

    Love it, only a New Yorker could imagine the garbage man in a better place. You are fantastic. Write the novel, you have it in you.
    Love, Moe

  4. Connie Says:

    Sue, I so enjoyed reading this. I love getting to know you better. I agree with Moe–write a novel. Love, Connie

Leave a Reply

